Porto, reinvented history
We will wander down to the historic part of the city, to understand it as a living organism where old and new architecture co-exist.
The city’s main avenue, Aliados Avenue, opened in 1919 by Barry Parker, has been renovated in 2006 by Álvaro Siza and Eduardo Souto Moura, taking advantage of the opportunity created by the implementation of Porto’s subway.
We will visit the House of the 24, designed by Fernando Távora and built in 2002, on the foundations of the former House of Representatives of the fifteenth century.
We will descend to the Ribeira on the funicular designed by Adalberto Dias, to rest on the shores of the river Douro, in one of the bars designed by Cristina Guedes and Francisco Vieira Campos, or on the renewed market Ferreira Borges (iron construction dated from the nineteenth century) designed by Aires Mateus.
In Serralves, the contemporaneous Art Museum lives side by side with a house and gardens designed by Marques da Silva, in the first half of the twentieth century.
We will also visit what Siza calls the “Acropolis Porto”, Porto’s School of Architecture.